My Entry into the “Fall Photo Contest” at “Emily’s Vintage Visions” Blog

100_4454a-compThis weekend, I submitted my entry to Emily’s “Fall Color Photo Contest”.  I was sorely tempted to submit a mid-1930’s outfit made from this pattern (see at left) out of a rust cranberry colored paisley with brown and gold tones.  I have yet to blog about this dress despite being very proud of it.

However, just like for Emily’s “Color Recipes for Spring” photo contest from earlier this year, where I submitted my 1942 Winter-Mint dress and Velvet Hat, I went for the 40’s again.  You can see my entries on her Facebook page.  Here is my outfit pictures with my summary:

“My outfit incorporates my sewn projects and authentic vintage, as well as several different recurring fashion ideas mentioned from the inspiration articles. Here I am channeling the mid-1940’s.

100_6327-comp“Brown Proves Popular” article was my main inspiration. Alligator ankle strap shoes were mentioned in the article, and so I’m wearing my dark brown, vintage, leather strappy platforms in what I believe is a circa-1946 style. To link in my shoes (like the article mentioned), I’m carrying a brown faux-alligator leather 40’s style purse, handmade by me from a free online pattern. The straps fold over into one another to close the box top.

100_6341-comp“Brown Proves Popular” article’s mention of silver and grey hound’s tooth check, so I personalized the idea with what I had on hand and sewed a silvery grey Glen plaid center pleated skirt using an old Advance #3964 pattern from the year 1945. The skirt’s fabric is a thick rayon acrylic as warm as wool.

Green was mentioned throughout, so I am wearing a vintage heavy wool suit coat, with lapel pockets at the hips and turned back cuffs. This jacket was a gift to me from a close friend of mine who shares my vintage and sewing enthusiasm. Both jacket and shoes are “Famous-Barr” brand.

Kelly's Fall Color Challenge accessories combo pic - compThe buttons on my suit coat are golden, so I chose gold earrings, a gold watch necklace (from my husband), and a vintage golden dachshund dog pin as my accessories. Long, short dogs are a personal “thing” for me – for three generations now, my mom’s side of the family has always had one in the house as do I now, too. I love my sweet little canine companion and am wearing that sentiment on my jacket lapel!”

I have enough extra fabric to make a matching jacket for to match the skirt, and I’m hoping to get to that sooner than later and make a post on the whole outfit.  Look out for a post on the handmade purse coming very soon to my blog.

Leave a Reply

