Family ‘Maprons’

For Father’s day, I’ll post about something which is often associated with women being made to suit men – aprons for most all the men in my family!  Did you even know the word “mapron” (one of the more unusual terms, I must admit)?  I didn’t until I sewed some men’s aprons.

100_5354-comp

Anyway, these aprons get probably the most use out of any and all of the things I have sewn…which is so cool!  I have found that the most practical, overlooked, and daily used items are often the ones I don’t sew too often because they do seem a bit boring and tedious to make compared to other project which showcase skill and creativity.  I’m thinking of underwear, aprons, pajamas, hankies, and maybe curtains and seat covers, for some examples in my life. However, when I make these items that no one will ever really see, that are meant to be worn out…well, it completely pays back in a special way that’s hard to explain.  It kind of hits in the brain that sewing can also just be more than showing ability but very practical and a way to personalize one’s life and tastes.  I always know that, but sometimes the right project needs to come along to remind me.

Why is it that (like I said at the beginning) aprons are generally associated with something for women, and men are only relegated to very basic “cobbler-style” aprons.  I call no fair!  Men can be just as messy with their food anyway, and definitely do need to protect nice clothing sometimes, especially little boys.  Also, my husband does some of the cooking in our house, besides especially being the king of the outdoor grill.  So – he now has his very own apron, as well as my dad, my brother-in-law, and my son.  Yes, sometimes I do get on a roll when it comes to aprons.  They’re so easy to make, so fun for me to come up with, and so open to creativity, sewing aprons is like potato chips…it’s hard to limit yourself to just one. 100_5351-comp

For my husband’s apron, I used a basic shaped apron from my collection and traced it out directly onto the fabric, widening it just a bit for his frame.  Such a simple design makes the very cool fabric shine. The fabric feels like a denim really, but it’s so textured and interesting and sort of like camouflage.  There is an extra-large pocket off to the bottom right side for handy purposes.  Unbleached cotton braided rope becomes the ties.  The side waist ties are attached to the apron by hiding in a little pocket square of self-fabric, while the neck tie runs through a casing in the top.

My dad’s apron is a carbon copy of my husband’s.  He is often dressed up and my mom’s arthritis limits her from doing the laundry many days, so anything which saves him from more wash is a good thing.  One yard was enough fabric to make both of them.

100_6660-compMy brother-in-law’s mapron was also made pretty much the same way with the same shape, same ties, and the same pocket as the duo made for both my dad and husband.  Only, his was made from an awesome cotton just perfect for him – a print with giant loaded slices of food…pizza pie with all the toppings.  I did add a utility loop to the outside corner of my brother-in-law’s apron pocket so he can hang tools or towels or whatever he wants.  It was lined in a bright green contrast cotton, leftover from what I used to line my very own Christmas apron.  100_5838a-comp

Our son’s aprons are made much simpler – it’s just a self-traced mini version of the same shape used for my hubby’s apron with no pockets.  I also made two just to cover the fact that one will probably be taking its turn in the wash at any given time.  The ties on both aprons are self-fabric loops sewn on in place (no casing).  Both train aprons are meant to go on him in different ways.  One apron ties around both the neck and waist (like a regular apron) while his second apron is tied into two arm-holes to tie in one spot at his center back.  Also, one apron has the print of choo-choo trains right way up and the other has it wrong way up.  This way the one apron’s print looks right from a viewer’s perspective while the other he can see best when it’s on himself.  Variety keeps our little guy thinking.  The trains on the fabric make him more than happy (excited, really) to put on an apron – score!

train apron tie backs-comp

Fun fabrics and prints and a few tough touches for an apron made the perfect gift for the men that are hard to give to in our family – perhaps I’ve given you a gift idea, as well?!

THE FACTS:

FABRIC:  all aprons are made from 100% cotton – my husband’s and dad’s are from a novelty denim, my brother-in-law’s a novelty print quilter’s fabric lined in broadcloth, and my son’s in a kid’s print

NOTIONS:  I had to buy the roping for the ties of the adult aprons but other than that I had all the thread and everything else I needed

PATTERN:  None!  I drafted my own apron patterns here.

TIME TO COMPLETE:  My dad and hubby’s aprons took maybe 30 to 45 minutes each to make and were made back on June 14, 2013.  My brother-in-law’s apron was made on December 13, 2015 and took me about 1 to 1 ½ hours to make.  I spent maybe 2 hours or less to sew our son’s aprons, and they were made on July 30, 2015

TOTAL COST:  All the apron’s fabric and notions came from Hancock Fabrics, except the train and pizza print were bought on clearance when there was a store closing.  As these are gifts, I won’t get into cost really, but aprons are always quite reasonable, especially since each adult apron takes one yard and my son’s two aprons took only ½ yard.

Leave a Reply

