Simplicity’s New Winter Patterns

I went to the fabric store yesterday, and what did I see…but Simplicity’s new patterns waiting for me!  I guess these are for Winter of 2016/2017.  The new pattern releases were a complete and stunning surprise because I have not seen a mention online or any discussion about them…and they are rocking awesome in my estimation!  There are at least 10 – count them – yes, 10 vintage re-releases starting from the 1930s into the 1970s, with a vintage-influenced one.  If your interested, here’s my ‘probably-too-thorough’ overview of them.

Firstly, let’s start at the patterns from the oldest (and most spectacular in my opinion) decade.  I think Simplicity deserves a great pat on the back for their choice of re-releasing these two patterns, as well as their lovely fitting, styling, notions, accessories, and fabrics.  I want a pattern for red and white hat, too!  No really, Simplicity must have been working hard to please us in the vintage community this time around.  I’m encouraged to see this.

simplicity-8247-8248-comp

I have found the original for Simplicity 8248, it was a no. 2432 dated to July of 1937.  It’s a nice day dress that is not too outstanding in style for the time period but very welcome to have released.  Only, where are the long sleeves included in the original?  The other pattern, 8247, is (I believe) from Winter of 1930/1931.  So far I haven’t found the original envelope or number, but I have found from my digging, that the style of cover, type font, and three-piece sets were released from about 1930 to no later than early 1932.    If anyone knows otherwise about the dating let me know.  I need to find the perfect fabric for these two and whip them up immediately!  I want to wear these outfits so badly!

Next, are two patterns that have good promise, but as I see them sewn up and on the models, I am a bit disappointed.  They do not fit the model correctly and are similar to past re-releases.  Simplicity 8249 is originally from year 1947, released as no. 2230.  This is so elegant, detailed, and classic of the asymmetric styles seen in the Post War era.  I also like how it can be a mid length cocktail dress or a long evening style.  However, the style reminds me of Vintage Vogue #2787, year 1948, and Butterick #6374, year 1944.  Also, the models shoulders are droopy, bust darts quite high, and bosom stuffed into a dress made a size too small for her chest – it looks awful and doesn’t do the pattern justice.  The same for Simplicity 8250 – originally no. 3775 from 1951.  I love the set, but it seems the bolero ends on the model at the wrong place…it’s supposed to curve under the bust.  The arched waist skirt vaguely reminds me of Simplicity 4044 (from the 40’s and OOP) but is darling in this 50’s version – I’m especially loving the giant pockets.  This looks like something Gracie Allen would wear…and that’s a good thing.  I hope the fitting problems are just with the model garments and not something to watch out for in the patterns themselves.

simplicity-8249-8250-comp

The next two patterns are both early 50’s patterns.  Simplicity 8252 was originally a Designer’s pattern, no 8270 from year 1950.  I love that fact that this pattern has a Redingote style over dress with slip-like dress underneath – just lovely design and a breath of fresh air to get a change.  I love Redingotes (so glad they used the term on the pattern) and hope this prompts others to look up about them as I did because they are such a complimentary style.  Not that long ago, I just made a slip from an Advance pattern from 1951 which is just like the 8252 under dress…sorry, off topic.  The second pattern, Simplicity 8251, looks to me like an early 50’s design with its sweet styling, large oblong pockets, and double collar and cuffs.  Very practical dress, but it’s details make all the difference.  I just can’t find the original cover and number for it – also can’t wait to sew up this one!  (Update – Alex’s comment on this post (down lower) let me know that 8251 is actually another Designer’s pattern, originally no. 8364 from year 1950.)

simplicity-8252-8251-comp

Simplicity 8255 and 8256 are killer!  I love the edginess and hippie factor to both the patterns and the covers – but that’s just me.  I can so totally see some sort of Emma Peel or Marvel Comic Black Widow body suit version of Simplicity 8255, originally no. 9142, year 1970.  It might take some body-conscious bravery to wear this.  The bust panels of Simplicity 8256 look like they make for a nice fitting bodice, but I personally think highlighting them in a different color or top-stitching might be quite a bold move.  The peasant influence prevails here yet still seems totally adult with all the ruffles, but I must complain…why aren’t the pants included like in the original?!

simplicity-8256-8255-comp

Simplicity 8254 is definitely from the Space Age.  Although I can’t find the original cover I’m guessing it’s from 1967, ’68, or ’69.  (Update – Laura Mae on her blog post here shared info that lets me know that 8254 is actually another Designer’s pattern, originally no. 8537 from 1969.)  I think Simplicity did a great job presenting this pattern, too.  However, for a different pace, Simplicity 8259 has wonderful details and is a nice design with classic yet vintage flair, released through the Sew Chic pattern Company.  Indie companies and designers have a chance to reach a bigger audience and get spotlighted with actions like these.

simplicity-8259-8254-comp

I need patterns like I need a hole in my head but I did buy all 10 of these new re-leases.  If you want to see the original covers for the reprints, please visit my Pinterest page by clicking here.  I believe there were actually more releases from Simplicity for this season but I think my mind blanked out after seeing these 10.  Will you be buying any of them?  What do you think?  Do you know anything more about the missing info (dates and pattern numbers) I couldn’t find?  I want to know where Simplicity gets their fabric!

Save

Save

Save

10 thoughts on “Simplicity’s New Winter Patterns

  1. I’m so in love with these new patterns! It seems like your store got them early, because they’re technically not out yet. Mode de Lis posted on her instagram earlier this week with them, but now they’ve popped up on Pattern Review. http://sewing.patternreview.com/Catalog/45/Oct-2016 I’ve never shown too much interest in the classic 30s style, but I saw 8248 and immediately said, “I need it.” Or like five. The perfect office dress! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • No problem…thank you back to you for sharing the other places to see about the new releases. I have a feeling that the Simplicity 30’s releases are going to win many others to try out a new decade, a new style – just like you. Do you have any ideas yet of how you might make your version of 8248? I’m excited to see everyone’s ingenuity for 8248 – the three panels across View A could even be done in a color graduation,”composé”, for one of my many ideas.

      Like

  2. I have the original vintage version of 8521. It’s a Simplicity Designer’s Pattern copyrighted 1950. The pattern number is 8364.

    I can’t wait to get ahold of the reproduction because 1) I won’t have to grade the original & 2) I love seeing how close they actually made the patterns.

    Like

  3. Thanks for this great review! We all wait (impatiently) for the new patterns to come out, and I agree your store has been blessed with speedy delivery. Like all the rest I’ve been waiting to get #8259 into my hands. I cannot speak for the other styles, but the velvet came from JoAnn and the gray wool was a blend I got from Vogue Fabrics. It’s a bummer that it won’t still be available after release, as we work so far ahead.

    Like

    • Thank you for commenting, Laura, your patterns are just lovely. Thank you so much for letting me in your your fabric sources, too. Usually my local fabric store is slower to get the new pattern releases – but not this time! I’m hoping to see more of your designs released by Simplicity. Now I should go through my stash and figure out how to make my version of #8259!

      Like

Leave a Reply

