Vogue’s Summer 2017 Patterns

I know others have said their share on the new patterns just released by Vogue (see them here), but I have so many thoughts on them, that I might as well go ahead and share my two cents on my favorites.

What stands out to me the most this time around is the inclusion of a men’s designer pattern offering – no. 9262, by a man for men.  This is an interesting and encouraging move.  For far too long men’s wear has been pitifully neglected by pattern companies.  V9262-compWhat they normally have to offer is so basic, limited, and generally unappealing, if they don’t sell well it’s partly their own fault.  Granted, my husband and a lot of other men will not be interested in this particular pattern, either in terms of buying it for themselves to use or having someone else make the garment for them.  It’s pretty much just a basic blazer with some quirky details which do make it noteworthy…especially the top stitching.  Menswear has had little changes throughout the past 100 years – it has to be all in the cut and the details to make a garment special for them. I’ve seen many a vintage pattern which would be much more unique and fashionable yet generally appealing (no offence the designer).  Remember, guys do make up a large part of the designing and sewing world – a point so often forgotten…it’s not a solely ‘girl’ thing!  They also can and do enjoy awesome clothes just the same as women, and when a garment is hand sewn, that brings the self-esteem and conscious satisfaction with what they have on to the forefront. Pattern companies need to support more of this, for example by reprinting some vintage men’s patterns, as well perhaps…

There is a loner when it comes to something new for their Vintage Vogue line, but I do think it is a really good one.  They’ve re-released a circa 1960 two piece swim set with a short cover-up dress/tunic, no. 9255.  Swimwear patterns seem to sell at a premium V9255-componline, whether they are reprints or originals, so this is most welcome.  Swimwear takes little fabric to sew (the pattern doesn’t seem to call for any wires or foam), and I see a big market together with a big desire for more retro styles in bathing suits.  I especially love the fact that the bottoms are more like shorts in the way they are cut around the legs – this is exactly what I have to find for swim bottoms myself.  However, the butt cheek darts to fit the back end might not work for many of us (myself included) without adapting!  The ‘View B’ top reminds me a lot of Simplicity’s #1426.  There are differences, I know, and I do still like it, I just plan on only using the bottoms and the cover up.  Shown with the hat and purse on the line drawing cover, this totally reminds me of something from Doris Day’s movie, “Lover Come Back” year 1961.  Although she was too conservative to wear a two piece for the beach scene, she did love a standout hat (see this post for many examples)!  Alone, the Vogue swim outfit strikes me as a slightly more decent version of Ursula Andress’ famous white bikini in 1962’s Bond movie “Dr. No”.

V1548-compOut of all the patterns, I must say I do absolutely LOVE no. 1548, a Guy Laroche design.  Plastron fronts are a garment feature that has perennially appealed and mystified me…and this Guy Laroche design brings the plastron to a notch higher.  Very few patterns actually glue me in like this one did – I could have been drooling in front of the screen looking at it.  For all I know I couldn’t take my eyes off of the line drawing.  The sleeves are structured yet streamlined, like some past 1930s masterpiece.  The front takes the plastron definition seriously by actually having a workable, removable ‘breastplate’, besides giving many options for changing the ‘look’ of the neckline.  Even the hems of the dress and sleeves have a special, understated touch.  The whole thing is harmonious though, not throwing too much together, pushing the limit yet not going over the top.  I think a solid color fabric is a good choice here, although a print with a solid contrast breastplate and hem accent might be interesting, too.  I NEED to buy this immediately and make it up sooner than later!  Where I’ll wear it, I don’t know but it bolsters my belief in modern patterns!

As for the rest of the new patterns, they are generally appealing to me.  Some are V1550-compredundant, others are complex, and a few are plain confusing to me.  I will not go into minute details (unless you’d really want me to – just ask) about my views on the rest except for a few more. The Paco Peralta outfit is the best hankie hem design I’ve seen in a while (in my opinion) but it also seems like a fabric hog that might be hot to wear in the summer unless made from linen or silk like it recommends.  Now, if only we can convince more local fabric stores to actually carry more silk and linen so we can more easily make outfits like Paco Perlata’s?!   This is where the reality of most brick-and-mortar fabric providers and the needs of those whose will sew such a pattern does not match up…and it needs to change.  No. 9253 looks comfy, yet sexy at the same time, (a great combo) and is my favorite.  I really V9253-compwant the fabric it was made from!  I have a vintage pattern that’s very similar if I just add a V-neck, Simplicity 8551 from 1969, and this style was popular in the late 60’s into the 70’s so I’m surprised this one isn’t labelled as retro. Now, no. 9259 stumps me.  How in the freaking world do you do your bathroom business in this!   A bra cannot be worn with this so I envision one having to get practically naked to do one’s potty duty.  No thanks!  A really neat design is rendered worthless to me by being completely impractical.  I do have an original year 1951 Vogue #7375 dress pattern and it has a similar bodice of two halter-style swaths of fabric which cover the bust.  I have seen this type of design on several other garments, from the 1970s to modern, so this is nothing new but looks stunning every time.  Just saying nevertheless, I think this wrap top might work best with a skirted bottom for ease of potty break time.

What do all of you think?  Will you be buying any patterns this time around?  I will be buying just a few, though I do not need to fill up more space in my pattern cabinet…

6 thoughts on “Vogue’s Summer 2017 Patterns

  1. I never seem to know when pattern releases are happening until everyone has blogged about them!
    My favorite is the swimsuit pattern, it is gorgeous! I am a big fan of foam/wire (because I need all the help I can get), but the structure of the top (especially view B) seems like it could be okay… I also don’t think I am ready to try sewing underwires, and I need a new swimsuit… I think it would look great in a gingham print or a bright red!
    I’m intrigued by the butt cheek darts, I don’t know much about fitting, are they intended to help fit smaller cheeks or bigger cheeks?

    Like

    • I really don’t know what kind of rear end the bootie cheek darts will fit. I’ll have to see once I am able to check out the pattern itself. From the side picture on Vogue’s page for the swimsuit it doesn’t look like the back end fits and covers the model all the way around as well as I’d like it to fit on myself. A muslin might be in order…

      Also, I’m sure a thin foam lining could be added easily anyway for structure, and yes your color/fabric ideas sound great!

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

    • “Silky” – I love that term for it, it’s so funny and I know just what you mean about those poses. I’m supposing the cover artists were so used to drawing ladies illustrations that they tried too hard to make the men look manly – cigarettes, newspapers, and all those props!

      Perhaps I will be seeing a version of the white dress on your blog,too, at some point? I’d like to see how you make it!

      Like

      • Haha… typo! I meant “silly” poses… but then I guess “silky” could be used to describe some of them too! 🙂 But your absolutely right about the props – I saw one where the fellow was wearing a housecoat and shaving. That dress collar is fabulous – it is added to my sewing to do list… a very long list!

        Like

  2. That swimsuit pattern is darling! Thanks for pointing it out. I made a swimsuit two years ago and it was not as difficult as I was thinking it would be. Worth a try.

    Like

Leave a Reply

